Club History

Opened in 1985

Let Us Be Judged By Our Acts

Pre 1982

Various methods of fund raising took place, including sponsoring a square yard of the green, dances, and safari suppers.
Funds were also augmented by a number of free loans. Mr. Tom Cann was elected as the first chairman in December 1982.



In 1989 members erected a pavilion in memory of the late Mr. Claude Wade, one of the founder members who had played a great part in the formation of the club.
The club had some 130 members and boasted one of the finest greens in the county.
It made rapid progress with both men and women representatives at county level.


The green was laid in 1985. It opened for playing on 25th July 1985 by Mr. C. Metherell, who was president of the Devon Bowling Association. A luncheon was held in the Memorial Hall.
For the next couple of years a caravan served as the club house.


In 1993 the club hosted the Devon County Finals, and in 1995 is the venue for the Devon and Cornwall inter-county Cup competitions.
In 1994 Pam Ham was elected as the Ladies' County Junior
Vice-President and was President in 1996.